All Under Heaven

When I first received the book all I could say is wow. This is a very hefty tome. It comes across as almost encyclopedia like. Is this the end all be all in Chinese cookbooks? It would have to be near the top of all the books that have came out. It is a very impressive book. If you are looking for a book with loads of pictures on every other page, then this isn’t the book for you. There are drawings placed throughout the book. Some are diagrams to show how to roll or cut. I kind of like the idea of no pictures. I think in this case it is going to be best left to the imagination of the cook.

This is definitely not a dumbed down cookbook. I think this title is more suited to a seasoned cook. Don’t get me wrong a beginner could use this book. But I don’t think that is the audience this book is aimed towards. You won’t find alot of Americanized dishes in the book with it staying true to the origins of the dishes.

There are recipes from 35 different regions of China. I’m not going to try and list them all out here. This is a very impressive book and I don’t think anyone would be disappointed purchasing it.

I received this book in exchange for an honest review from the blogging for books program.

Leave a Reply

