Milk bar life by Christina Tosi

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect with this chef book.  It comes across as a church fundraiser book with recipes picked out by kids.  That being said the book is fantastic.  This is the first time that I have looked at this type of book and really feel as if I can make every recipe. With that being said I don’t think I will be doing that.  There are a few recipes that are quite odd such as the spaghettios sammy, or the tang toast.  I really don’t have a desire to fix those recipes, but it’s not to say that I wouldn’t try them once.  I’m really looking forward to try some of the baking recipes especially the pie crust and the dinner rolls.  They come across as simple recipes that anyone can make.

There are nine sections in the book which are:

Hand me down

A cookie a day

Supermarket

We are family

Weak Nights

Freakin Weekend

Cookout/Bonfire

Craft Night/Sleepover

Going out

I would recommend this book to anyone of any cooking level.  The recipes are easily accessible and not overly complicated.  I recieved this book in exchange for my honest review from the Blogging for books program.

CHRISTINA TOSI is the chef, owner, and founder of Milk Bar, sister bakery of the Momofuku restaurant group, with locations in New York City, Toronto, and soon Washington, D.C. She is the 2012 recipient of the James Beard Rising Star Chef Award, a finalist for the 2014 James Beard Outstanding Pastry Chef Award, and a judge on Fox’s MasterChef and MasterChef Junior.

Leave a Reply

